23 y/o student side project - Custom-made birth posters

whiskipops

Hi everyone!

Domain: www.yourbabyposter.com

Elevator pitch: We help parents remember the size of their baby at birth by creating a timeless illustration of a custom-made baby poster that adapts to the baby's true size at birth.

Main difficulties: Online Marketing, online marketing, online marketing.

After 3-4 months of development next to my studies (I am studying industrial engineering and I am in the final semester of my master's program), I have finally launched my shop YourBabyPoster.com. The shop is based on the Shopify platform and I've coded most of the customizations myself, with a little help from overseas. My main focus right now is to grow the sales by testing and implementing growth hacking strategies (mostly free or little budget involved), I have found a post with many bullet points about this, that I can share if anyone is interested.

Happy to hear your feedback or improvement ideas!

BR

@whiskipops Great idea.

Don’t market to new parents. I have a 2 month old and I’m definitely not shopping around for stuff like this right now. Market to friends and family members who will preorder it for them as a baby shower gift. So you’ll need to provide something to be presented to the parents-to-be in lieu of the gift— just a flyer or gift certificate sort of thing that explains the product, maybe has instructions on it for how to redeem and submit the photo or whatever you need.

@golf_tee Thank you for the feedback! To be honest, since our tagline includes info like the size at birth (for the 1:1 scale illustration), weight it might be hard for friends/family to buy this as a present. Might be even hard for some friends to know the exact birth date of the baby. I will definitely have to find a workaround for this issue. Looking forward to see if more new parents agree with you on this point! :)