3 Mistakes I made while coding our MVP

urbanredneck

(reposting this without any links, apologies to the @momoftwoteens-ModTeam for the last one!)

3 Mistakes I made while coding our MVP​

Over the last 5 weeks, my wife and I (both swe's) decided to start a new business in the creator niche since I'm a creator and I have a lot of experience in the industry.

I've previously bootstrapped a SaaS in a different niche over the past 4 years which gave me a lot of experience when it comes to building scalable products, and what tech stack to use.

Here's a list of 3 mistakes I made that I would change for the future, during this building process.

Mistake #1​

We didn't keep up with talking to people.

At the start, we knew we wanted to build something that helped bridge the gap between marketers and creators, but we didn't know exactly what pain point to tackle.

We ended up speaking to around 10 people and isolating one problem: it's hard for brands to find the right influencers.

With that in mind, we scoped out what was possible via social media APIs and started building.

We finished 5 weeks later, and we realized where we ended up with a bit far from the feedback we had gotten. We got so far into the weeds of what was technically possible, we almost had no idea of what was realistically useful.

I wish we kept up with outreaching to 5-10 people per day, just to stay grounded in what people were looking for. It also would have helped when we launched.

60% of the people we chatted with before building agreed to have a demo call once we finished the MVP.

If we had continued outreach while building our MVP, with that %, we could have had far more eyes on our initial demo.

Don't forget about the customer as soon as you start building!

Mistake #2​

We let tech dictate priorities.

We launched with 3 different main features, as to try and cast a wide net on usefulness hoping at least one of them would be close to some semblance of PMF.