30m looking for advice

riverwood

I’d love some advice. I’m 30 years old, married no kids. I’m currently in sales, I make over 100k a year. However it’s outside sales, it’s heavy travel in my car day to day, lots of gas. My boss currently has been a nightmare to deal with.

I’ve got a background in entrepreneurship in the construction space. I’ve ran a roofing business in my past.

My wife is a dance teacher, she doesn’t make a whole lot of money but she has enough for her day to day spending.

I switch from roofing to sales because my body was sore, and I was tired of trying of picking up my employees etc. I’ve been selling for approx 8 months and I’m worried I’ve made a mistake. This is the first time in the last few years that I am living paycheque to paycheque. I have some credit card debt, a mortgage, property taxes etc. and I’m currently making 100-140k a year (depends how the next 4 months go) and I’m struggling to save at the end of the week.

I miss cashing cheques every-other day, I miss the freedom of not having a boss. I’m getting nervous about the Economy and the reality of sales in that environment. However I don’t want to get into exterior construction again. I’m wondering if anyone has any suggestions?

@613jono Honestly. That was my first thought but I’ve started to track every expense and I just can’t seem to save. I think the problem is it’s so feast or famine. When I went through busy season I had been slow on work for a few weeks so I took a few big pays to catch up and now That it’s slower I’m just struggling to make it happen.

@riverwood Run the numbers go back and account for every cent you've spent each month for the last 3 months. figure what is a need and a want. Figure out the minimum you can strictly live off of.

Have your deposit account, that one you never pay with, that is your reservoir. Have two other accounts, one for regular cost bills, and another for incidentals.