and start doing e-commerce for my B&M store

wvc

We have a mostly successful B&M store and I know I'm leaving money on the table by not being online yet. I'm not resistant at all - I am just experiencing paralysis I think.

We have thousands of products. Photography I know is essential, but so incredibly expensive. I know I don't need to put my entire store online, but even the essentials are about 500 products. I think this is the hardest part for me... the most affordable cost at $20/product is a lot to swallow. Is it worth it? Should I get a light box and do it myself? I do have a nice smart phone...

Should i just hire someone to handle creating the website? We have square so loading the inventory, I imagine, won't be THAT hard. Or am I being naive? I have no developer experience... so I should probably just hire someone?

Ugh. Seriously I think I need some serious hand holding with these decisions. I'm frustrated with myself. Help?

@wvc https://zapier.com/blog/best-ecommerce-shopping-cart-software/

You probably have already done some research but based on what this article says about Square, it sounds like it might be reasonably cost-effective and easy for you to include your online platform. Plus it says it offers a good onboarding experience which I'm sure you would appreciate!

Take a couple of weekends with Square and see how easy it is to build the platform. Start with your own light box and your phone for the photography; you can always upgrade later if needed. I got a light box for about $50 on Amazon and it worked fine for 90% of what I needed. If the platform building goes well and the project seems do-able, you can always turn the rest of the photography over to some kid.

Don't aim for perfection to start, just start! Good luck to you!

@wvc Do you make all your products? Are they each unicorns?

If you are selling stuff that you bought from someone else, see if they have a photo online that you can use (with their permission).