Building side projects outside full-time job

henchwill

For those who actively building side projects, how much time did you spend each day? Does your full time job require regular overtime?

When I made my first side project as a junior developer, I took learning + experience as priority. I couldn't identify any project idea that relies primarily on my backend Java/C++ experience. I ended up making an Android app, as I can at least leverage my familiarity with the language. Guess what, when I started, latest Android was 1.4; by the time I published, latest version was already 4.x. The progress was crawling mainly due to unpredictable and long working hours, there was a number of times I thought of abandoning the incomplete project.

Any advice for makers with demanding full-time job? TIA.

@henchwill I started building side projects as a junior/mid as a way to become proficient at my job. I've never worked at a place that didn't have great WLB but I knew that if I wanted to climb, I needed to put in the time. I always had ideas, nothing great but something to hack away at and use as an excuse to learn a new technology. As a senior, I'm kind of burned out at my job but still have the same burning passion to build something on the side. I never had a truly good idea until recently, most were hobbies that had a pretty low ceiling. At this point I'm enjoying it and working towards faster FIRE. At the worst, it makes me more proficient at my job and I can accomplish what I'm expected to accomplish in 8 hours, in 4.

I think there are 2 ways to approach it. You either have a great idea in the area of your expertise (building native apps) or you use it as a chance to learn something new, which doesn't feel like a job but more of a hobby. Maybe it gives you financial impendence, maybe it leads to a career change at somewhere with a more healthy WLB.

@toyoken Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. I appreciate it.