Buying a Saas for 50k?

bod2411

Hey folks I’d really like some advice,

I have an opportunity to buy a saas for roughly $50k…

The service operates as a free service and makes about 10k a year in advertising.

A ball-park estimate of users is 10,000 with maybe half of them being active users. I don’t know how accurate this is yet.

The service is low maintenance and has just been maintained by the developer. It has a lot of potential for premium features that I would
build.

As a software developer, I can easily rebuild this service but the already existing user base is what I’m interested in.

Thing is, $50k is about half of my liquid net worth. This would dip into our 6-month emergency fund. I’ve never purchased a business before, so this is uncharted waters for me.

I was wondering if Reddit had any advice?

Thank you!!

@bod2411 Alright you’re getting a ton of terrible advice in this thread so ima chime in even though I never comment on this sub.

The truth is you haven’t given enough info for anyone to give you any kind of good advice, but I can make some guesses.

I’m a marketing guy, not a saas guy, and pretty much no matter how you cut this deal it’s a bad one.

You’re paying $50k for $10k in revenue. Let’s assume ALL of that is profit (unlikely). So it’s making ~$833/month from advertising.

The average going rate right for extremely small advertising based websites right now is between 35x-47x avg last 12 months of monthly profit. So if ALL of that revenue is profit AND this website deserves a high multiple AND that profit has been stable for the last 12 months (all extremely unlikely from what you’ve described), you’re still overpaying ~$11k (nearly 25%).

Realistically, I’d guess you’re overpaying by $17k+, more than 35%.

And that’s just looking at pure revenue.