Creating a high conversion landing page for your business

manojwilson

Hi people!!

I've been creating multiple landing pages for startups, including some of my own. I also reviewed tons of landing pages. I found that most of them does not have necessary information or features that is needed for a landing page to convert. Let me try to fix that by sharing my experience in this short post.

First things first, what is the purpose of a landing page?​

I think the only purpose of a landing page is to convert strangers to customer.

A couple of notes on this:
  • Notice that I say stranger, I meant it, it means people who don't know who you are, what you do, what your product is.
  • Customer, it means people who will spend their precious resource to you. This can be in the form of time, money, or attention.

Step 0. Pick a no code website builder​

I'm a software developer specializing in website building. I've built countless web applications. Trust me when I say, DO NOT CODE YOUR LANDING PAGES FROM SCRATCH. There are ENOUGH tools out there for you (non developers) to create your own beautiful landing pages without learning to code, or hiring people to code.

Here's some of the resources I know:
  1. Versoly
  2. Unicorn Platform (SaaS Specific)
  3. Typedream (can make just about anything actually)
  4. Feel free to add more in the comments.
You may notice that I don't mention big brands like Wordpress, Squarespace, etc. I feel like those sites are too complicated for people who just wants to create a simple, high conversion landing pages. This is just my opinion though, feel free to roast me in the comments lol.

Step 1. Pick a design​

There are countless landing page designs out there. Here are some examples:
  1. Stripe
  2. Linear
  3. Many more