Ditching SaaS: How I Went From Zero To $15k MRR

ista

My Story:

Inspired by this post

As a software engineer, I always wanted to launch my own business. Initially, Saas (software as a service) was the only thing on my mind. Given that my main skill was knowing how to code, I thought this was the only thing that made sense. This limiting idea led me down a long path of building a project, failing, and moving to the next.

Over the last few years I’ve tried to build a marketplace (basically an OfferUp clone), a machine learning stock trading tool, an AI dev tool, a sentiment analysis software, etc. As you can probably predict, none of these worked out which left me in a perpetual cycle of building something, and moving on. The plus side of this cycle is that I got to develop a lot of cool things, each providing its own set of unique technical challenges. I definitely learned a ton and became a better software engineer. Unfortunately, my goal isn’t to become a better software engineer, it is to become a business owner.

Changing My Mindset

This whole time, I had been considering a saas as my only option. This is likely due to all the business advice and podcasts preaching the message, “do what you're good at” or “learn a skill and build a business around that skill.” This advice is probably good. But for me, it hadn’t worked out at all. Admittedly, I think some of my ideas may have worked, it was just me lacking the knowledge and discipline to see it through. Anyhow, one day I was drinking apple cider sitting in front of my computer (probably watching another business podcast) when a thought came to me; “What if I don’t build a SaaS at all?”

I hinted at this thought earlier in this post so it may not seem super profound, but in the moment I really shocked myself. I was now allowing my mind to explore every type of business idea possible, which overwhelmed me so I decided to go to bed and sleep on it.

The Idea