Generative AI seems to be a hot topic, but I’m having a hard time finding good examples of how to build a SaaS off of it

jeniforjesus

Hey all,

When I look through forums and videos of generative AI and its business applications, I see a lot of low-hanging content meant for clicks.

e.g. How to build an app in 48 hours with AI and no code!
e.g. I asked AI to market my business for me!

I’m an engineer/entrepreneur, so I am constantly on the look out for interesting business opportunities using generative AI models that are available off the shelf and combining that with software. AWS Bedrock has piqued my interest, given you can perform prompt engineering and consume the responses via API.

I’m having a hard time seeing how to provide value to consumers that can’t be provided by the free tier of ChatGPT. It often feels like you’re a middle man of prompt engineering, taking something and structuring it in a way that can be better consumed by AI and returning the output. This might be useful for things like chat bots or search queries, but again, I’m struggling to see anything deeper than that.

Does anyone have any resources they’ve found that show examples of really interesting SaaS businesses that leverage AI?

@jeniforjesus
It often feels like you’re a middle man of prompt engineering, taking something and structuring it in a way that can be better consumed by AI and returning the output.

That's because that's about all the business application is for publicly available generative AI models. You don't control the model, or access to it, so the best you can do is create a helpful tool to accomplish a specific task using one of them.