Have I started the wrong business?

periosehperi

I have been working on my business now for about 6 months, officially went live with it a couple months ago. Since going live in about 2 months I've only had about 4/5 leads. Literally averaging about 2 leads per month. Those leads, haven't necessarily gone cold, I'm still speaking with them.

My business is home gyms and saunas. We would do everything from design, supply, building works and installs.

I feel I'm competing with all the big dogs in the industry and there is simply not enough work to go around?

Am I throwing in the towel too early? I am committed to making this work, I'm just worried I'm wasting my time.

UK based. 23 years old.

Anyone been in a similar situation?

Thanks guys

@periosehperi Take this with a grain of salt because I've never done a business like the one you're describing so I don't know timelines between lead generation and completion of project or even the market for you.

That sounds like a pretty niche business with a high ticket price. I think if you're getting a couple leads a month and you can see it becoming profitable, then I'd stick with it for a little longer. Even more so if this is a side business that you're hoping to turn into full-time.

@periosehperi If it’s a long process then I think you should stick with it if you believe it has potential to what you want to do.

Maybe reach out to the competition in the area as a prospective client to see what they do differently?

@peppapixl This right here, I worked in roofing sales and once a month we’d get a quote from a random company in the area to see their prices/sales process.

You learn a lot.

@periosehperi The main question that needs to be looked at is how are you getting leads?

I can tell you that those big companies are probably doing paid ads and cold outreach