How I Met My Technical Co-Founder On Co-Founder Match

Background​

I’ve been working in software sales for about 10 years. I do not write code, but I’m pretty good with technology (picked up SQL for example).

Over the past 7+ years I’ve had various insights and ideas for software products (as I’m sure people here can understand) but the biggest blocker to testing them has been writing the code and shipping the product.

I’ve tried various ways to partner up with developers (paying them, personal network, LinkedIn, sites like https://cofounderslab.com/, Reddit, etc) and have successfully shipped two software products up until now with varying results:
  1. Alkemy (2018) - a product data tool for sales people
  • Tried to convince a dev I was working with to work with me, didn't happen.
  • Paid a dev shop $15k to build an MVP without much market / user research
  • The MVP sort of worked but I had no real interest from users and there were some big challenges with the product that I can expound in the comments if people care
  1. Tabled (2020) - a QR code menu app with online menus
  • Met a software engineer on Reddit who lived outside the U.S. (I’m in U.S.)
  • We spec’ed out and launched a QR code / digital menu app. Read about it here.
  • At it’s peak we had a few thousand views per day but never monetized it and many of the top POS platforms (Square, Toast) launched similar features
After those two experiences, I realized that in order to have a real shot had building a successful software business I would need to work with a software developer who was a true 50/50 partner and as bought into whatever we were building as I was. And, ideally, we could work together in person as much as possible.

How I Met My Technical Co-Founder​

I joined YC Co-Founder Matching around 2021 and got a fair amount of interest from developers due to my sales background and had a lot of meetings but nothing really clicked.