How "move fast and break things" almost killed our startup on arrival

angie28

We started MiDrive Transfer as a result of our frustration with using other similar transfer platforms. I am an independent filmmaker and regularly send a downloadable version of my film frequently to film festivals. Some of the issues I had with other transfer platforms

Limited file size for the free plan (most offer about 2GB file size)

Expiry date! ( Virtually all transfer platforms set the expiration of a file download link to 1 week)

Some require me to sign up! Really?

Some have very crappy UX. 😩
We simply decided to create a better alternative with more latitude for the basic subscriber.

MiDrive Transfer was going to have more compelling deliverables. These were our differentiating features

Free for all to use.

Doesn't require you to sign-up

No ads

Up to 10GB file size for free (compared to 2GB for other platforms)

30 days expiry date (compared to 7 days for other platforms)

Simple and responsive

Everything that added up as a premium feature on other platforms was simply free. e.g. Password Protection.

While my other 2 partners were busy with building a world-class product, I was busy with marketing. I had initially reached out to my personal contacts about the project and many were waiting to give the platform a spin. We also had the usual regular marketing plans too. Launch on Product Hunt, Indiehacker etc.

MiDrive Transfer was ready for an open beta launch about a month later. We were very excited that we missed some very important things. Our launch on Indiehacker actually went relatively well (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/w...transfer-platform-midrive-transfer-297653168b). People tested the platform and found it cool. We only made one silly mistake. We didn't critically test the platform! We didn't test the platform with larger file sizes. I know that sounds bad but well, it's just what it is.