How we made $100k in revenue building shopify apps

mike12912

Hello, Idris here!. This week I want to share a summarised version of my interview with Erikas Mališauskas, A UI/UX designer making 100k in revenue building shopify apps

You can find the full case study here

Q: Hello! Who are you and what product are you working on currently?​

I'm Erikas Mališauskas, a serial entrepreneur and a professional UI/UX designer since 2011. I have co-founded 2 other startups and I have some background as an entrepreneur as well. I am currently building Shopify apps which already brought $100M+ for our merchants.

Q: What is your backstory and how did you come up with your idea? Do you have any partners?​

My background is in product design, having been doing that for more than 10 years. In my free time, I was always building something. I failed at least 5 different startups before I got into Shopify apps and made my first successful product. That's how I partnered with a developer and started Kaching Appz.

Q: Take us through the process of building the first version of your product MVP?​

The thought of launching a Shopify app came much earlier than the actual idea of the app. I spent a lot of time brainstorming ideas, analysing competitive space, popular app store search queries, etc.
After days of thinking, checking hundreds of e-commerce stores, and talking with successful e-commerce entrepreneurs, I eventually got the idea to make an app to easily add icon blocks to the store.
Also, I realised that I need a development co-founder. I found one and we managed to finish and launch the app in 2 weeks.

Q: How did you get your first customers for your product (Free or paid users)​