I got my first $999 client for my subscription design business - here's what I did

bijoyuhuji

Hy Everyone,

I started a subscription design agency in Jan 2023 leaving my full time job and being a developer and designer by profession, I had 0 sales or marketing skills.

Methods I tried

I tried the following things but nothing worked:
  1. Linkedin
  2. X
  3. Indie Hackers
  4. Approached YC companies which were recently funded
  5. Approached Startups that just started in last 1 year and received funding
  6. Approached various marketing agencies to partner with them, for outsourced design partner
  7. Companies hiring for UI/UX designer on contract position
  8. Fetched Lead contact and email through apollo -> Hired a cold calling guy on fiverr -> Asked him to call everyone on the list (after the service I felt I got scammed)
I didn’t go with the Ads as I didn’t have much savings remanning. Also, I think ads don’t do any good to business unless you spend a lot through a good strategy

Got my first project gig

After trying different ways for a couple of months, my friend referred me to one of his client who is looking to build his website. When I met the client he told me his budget was $300. Even-though I knew the value of my skills, I took to the project to start some revenue.

More project gig and first client acquisition

Second client: $300 (friend referral)

Third Client: $400(Coworking space I go to)

Fourth Client: $480 (Coworking Space I go to)

The third client got really impressed by our service and post support which led them to buy our design subscription.

Things I am trying

Although, one client is not enough but atleast we got the kickstart.Following things I am trying in parallel:
  1. Trying different marketing strategies to find what works.
  2. Tried hardcore sales -> Cold Calling ( I came to conclusion it is not for me)