Idea validation - C.F.O. services for startups

tylervan

Hello fellow Redditors,

I would like to validate a need for accounting services handcrafted for startups.

First, let me introduce myself. I'm a French citizen who has been living in the Philippines for the past 16 years. I'm a CFO by profession but an entrepreneur by heart. I have 3 failed attempts under my belt: an enterprise social network (2010), a recruitment tool (2012) and a fixed-assets software management (2013). Objectively, I failed because I did not have sufficient funds to invest and, as you all know, tech people don't work for free (and it's totally understandable!).

A friend of mine, who has been more successful on the startup scene, told me that I should look into offering accounting services (for which I have 20 years of experience) instead of trying to venture into fields that I may not master entirely. I have been thinking a lot about that and I am now ready to move forward with a project that is definitely not as sexy as building an app but could hopefully turn into a success.

When building a team, the minimum viable partnership (MVP?) is composed of one tech and one non-tech partners. But what about the administrative tasks? At first, you will handle them by yourselves but it's time consuming and you may not have the knowledge to do it right. Then, once you start having some revenues, you will retain the services of a bookkeeper. And...that's about it. You will wait until the first round of funding before hiring an in-house accountant or a C.F.O. if your first round allows you to do that kind of investment.