Is being an entrepreneurship worth it if I'm already a doctor?

ojhn0010

Hi everyone thank you for taking the time to read my post, all advice and perspectives are appreciated!

BACKGROUND:

I'm a 27 year old resident doctor, currently in year 4 out of a 5 year residency. Right now I make about $90,000 a year however as soon as I graduate from residency (about 2 - 3 years) my income is basically guaranteed to go up to between $300K - $500K if I work "regular hours" (i.e., a typical 9 - 5 job).

ASSETS & LIABILITIES:

I have about $700K in investments (mostly broad market index funds) and about $450K in debt (a combination of $50K student loans and a $400K line of credit which I used to purchase said investments when the stock market crashed in March 2019). I am comfortable servicing the debt and am working to pay down the principle now that my interest rate is 7% (they were 2% when I originally invested).

MY ENTREPRENEURIAL JOURNEY:

Over the past year, I started a small consulting company on the side for pre-medical students which did decently well given it was my first go (~$24K net profit). As you can probably all attest to, entrepreneurship can be all-consuming and I feel like to actually do it well and keep up with the competition, I'd have to put significantly more time into it, with the risk that I could have been financially better off if I'd just worked as a doctor.

QUESTION:

Given my financial situation, is there even a point to entrepreneurship, or should I just be more grateful for my situation and stop trying to chase more money?

@ojhn0010 I feel like you should work as a doctor for a few years, then do it.

I think your founder market fit will be much better having actually been a doctor, rather than a resident.