Is it possible?

hedowns

I have bills to pay and I’m eating off my savings while building our startup from basically nothing. I graduated college in 2022 and worked before that, is it possible to work at a YC series B and over company as I’m building our product? Do most people do this? It’s a very real question and I feel like most people in my age don’t have a definitive answer for it. I definitely need a job to eat but I also have time to dedicate during the day to someone else’s company as well as things go forward with our startup, thoughts?

@hedowns Try a large corporate job (banks, telcos, etc). It's not that intense, and you have a good chance of finding time for your startup. It's worth working in an area that's close to your startup's target market if it's B2B, so you can learn a lot about how decisions are made, who does what etc.

@hedowns Outside of getting your work done, you don't owe a company anything (that you don't want to owe them). Unless there are some legal clauses in your contract that say otherwise, working on whatever you want outside of your normal job is fine.

@hedowns Dude cut back your costs, get a part time job doing whatever, and focus on your startup. If you’re not earning a bit of $$ from your startup in 12 months….get a job

@blesseddove I AGREE WITH OLE BUDDY RIGHT YONDER BECAUSE HE SPEAKIN FACTS.
In all seriousness though, I think his recommendation to be best. I’ve worked on my own schedule with companies through the past and it was always best to have a crazy easy part time job. My recommendations, because they’re fairly common, would be gas stations or restaurants. Places like that have higher turnover rates which makes scheduling much more desirable as an employee. Also they’re going to be much more generous with the employee food than most would think; which solves two problems with one compromise. You’re probably better off getting paid 10-15 an hour for 2-4 shifts a week and having that cushion to fall back on.