Just launched a transactional email service, let 'er rip!

rosie37861

Product: AhaSend

I've been running a project management startup since 2014 that sends loads of transactional emails (notifications, reports, etc), and about 3 or 4 years ago, the cost of sending emails got to a point where it started making sense to do it myself. I built the infrastructure for sending a few million emails a month, and since then, I've launched 2 other startups and used the same system for sending emails.

Given all the work I've done on this over the years, almost exactly 3 months I decided to to do a bit more to add a user-facing dashboard and Stripe integration and launch it as a separate product, and AhaSend was born.

The product is ready for use, there might be a few bugs here and there in the dashboard, but the backend is robust and is already sending millions of emails per month for my other startups and a couple of friends who have started using it.

The Product​

AhaSend is a Pay-as-You-Go Transactional Email Provider.

One of my frustrations with most other Email Service Providers (ESPs) has always been their bracket pricing: Sending 250k emails a month and happily paying $160 a month, you see a bit of growth and need to send 255k emails next month? Nope, sorry, you'll need to jump to the next bracket which allows sending 400k emails per month and costs $250.

With AhaSend, the first 1,000 emails are always free, then you pay $5/month to send up to 10,000 emails per month, and then you pay $0.0005 per email (that's $0.5 per 1,000 emails) for any additional emails you send. No brackets and no hidden fees: you pay exactly for what you send.

Focusing on transactional emails has let AhaSend optimize for delivery speed instead of the throughput needed for sending millions of marketing emails in a short period of time (e.g. sending millions of emails in 2 hours to deliver a marketing campaign).