LiveCanvas - I built a wordpress page builder from scratch w/ Bootstrap 4. Feedback please!

thomaslowrens

[IN A NUTSHELL]

Page builders have thought the people that they can do everything without coding,but they didn't tell them the cost *of this.*So, can we change things?As a webmaster I was feeling there was a kind of void between bloated page builders and the classic bare code editors.

Ideally, can't we have a tool to make the Website Developing process: * fun,* flexible,* safe for newbies,* ...but uber-hackable for guys who can talk code?Somehow, I imagined a tool that would allow quick page building, via an easy visual interface based on direct manipulation - but wouldn't "assume" that I cannot code. A tool that would not give the "handcuffs" sensation that a developer feels while using visual page builders.

In my spare time, I started developing some proof-of-concept prototypes exploring the possibility of developing a page building platform which would be capable to ease the webpage creation and editing - but helping achieve full control on the generated markup.Kinda like a page builder for people who can code HTML - but want to save time. In another words, an automated HTML code writer somehow.

I didn't know where I was going, but I strongly felt the journey could be useful.After some years of experimentation, my conclusion was that it was perfectly doable, yet maybe a too small niche to appeal the big dogs.

And then, brick after brick, I built a plugin, LiveCanvas, "with a little help of my friends".

[TECH CHOICES]

Basically, I wanted LiveCanvas to be:
  • A way to build super fast websites, that can live inside WordPress or can be published as a static HTML site
  • A visual builder allowing you to reuse well tested, responsive components, and craft your own ones
  • A live HTML code editor making possible to easily refine ALL the visually - generated code - and would keep the page HTML as the only "source of truth"