Looking for someone to show me what's possible

jaimelavoie

Hello, I am a 23 y/o software engineer looking to escape my own limiting paradigms. I am of the opinion that surrounding one's self with successful and driven individuals is the best way to change ones mindset. My local connections aren't interested in being my mentor / friend so I thought maybe someone online would be. I have an open mind and I'm eager to learn a new way of looking at things.

I have been working my first engineering job for around 7 months now and I already feel like doing something more fulfilling. Everyday feels like someone else's day; the money isn't great either (it's a junior role). I decided to start exploring side projects and interests until I find a viable business. Recently I tried building an e-commerce brand however my approach to value proposition was all wrong, I did learn lots though.

My lifestyle is pretty poor, I live and work in my girlfriends small dorm room and sleep on the floor. I have limited assets as I have only been working for the last 7 months, salaries are also smaller in UK (thinking of moving to US as dual citizen). I grew up in a low income single mother household and never had anyone around me to teach me how to make money. I guess I'm looking for the farther I never had ..

@jaimelavoie Here's my advice as someone who has run companies all my working life (I'm 68).

Living a frugal lifestyle when you're young is a great start to a financially rewarding life. Congratulations. I'm assuming you're saving up money and keeping in somewhere safe. In the US that would be a federally insured savings bank - the stock market is too volatile for short term savings.

Check your employment contract to see what you can and can't do outside of work. In the US some contracts say the company will own any software you design even if it's not for them.