Made an app to help organize and track your boxes and storage items

sunnydaze72

Hey guys, I’m a UCLA student working on an app as a way to give people a much easier and efficient way to label and track their boxes without them having to write and rewrite everything on the side of their box. The way it works is you enter or scan your handwritten labels and then you type and/or snap a pic of everything that you’re putting inside. That way, when you’re unpacking, you can immediately know what’s inside the box, instead of having to rely on scrawled text on the outside. In addition, if you are looking for an item, but not sure where it is, you can use the search bar to find out exactly what box to look for, and where that box is located/supposed to be located. The intent of this app is to make it a lot easier to pack and unpack when you have large amounts of boxes and items to keep track of, and also to make it easier to find items within those containers.

^ That was the marketing blurb. The app is called BoX-Ray (www.box-ray.com - install doesn’t work through reddit browser, so if you want to test it out, open in Safari/Chrome) Now here’s the business stuff:

There are a few inventory apps out there. However, they seem to be split pretty hard into B2B and B2C. The biggest B2B competitor is Sortly, but their app has horrible UI/UX (from recent reviews), and they got rid of their cheapest plan, which B2C was using, so now they are strictly B2B. There are no big players in B2C. There are a lot of smaller apps, but they are more side-project vibe (not that mine isn’t also a side-project lol), by which I mean they do almost no marketing and are slow to improve their app. I’m using a no-code builder, which means that I can build out new features and ship them as quickly as I can come up with them.