Organic Growth > Paid Growth

joseppi

About me -

I am an ASO expert who loves to find new ways of organically growing apps on the play store and app store. While I have my own app business with apps that have clocked over 5 million installs, I love to help other app entrepreneurs launch and grow their apps.

I am here to talk about a recent app growth project that I did for a client to help them grow by 95% in 30-days without spending a penny on paid ads. I will also put across my learnings and experiences for other app makers who are looking for organic ways to grow their apps.

About the app -

A learning app to help people learn the basics of coding. The android app was chosen as Google Play's Editor's Choice app a few years ago. The app was obviously great but, the download trend was decreasing since then. The iOS app was launched recently.

Tips to growing -

When I picked up the app project around first week of Jan 2019, the app's download trend was decreasing. The competitor apps were doing good, which meant that the market was there, but our app was being pushed down on the rankings. Here are bunch of things that we focussed on to grow the app -
  1. Keyword research - Researched some good and high traffic keywords that are relevant for the app and those used by the competitors and used them to prepare store listing title, descriptions and keywords. For Play Store, Title, Short Description are very crucial while long description adds some weightage to keyword rankings. For the App Store, we have a keyword section that allows 100 chars, these help in the keyword rankings. Tools used for keyword research included - Sensor Tower & App Annie.