Our Startup in 7 Steps

heleadethme

Pieter Levels is a digital nomad. He is a self-taught app developer and founder of seven on-line businesses. He lives in different parts of the world. Pieter created Nomad List (for location flexible workers) as part of his goal to launch 12 startups in 12 months. There are seven steps he uses to develop his businesses.

1. 💡Idea​

The process starts with an idea to address an unresolved problem that we care about. Our ideal target users should include ourselves - “scratch our own itch”. This way, we know at least one person has the problem and we can assess the effectiveness of our solution. We need a way to engage our target users, ideally face to face. We shouldn’t fall into the trap of building something then trying to find a problem for it to address. The How I Generate App Ideas post explains how I try to gain insights to unmet needs of potential users.

Make something people want. - Paul Graham

2. 🛠 Build​

If possible, we should use design and programming skills we already have to build our solution and avoid spending months learning new things. Often when I get stuck a well crafted Google search unearths answers on an as needed basis. For an insight on the tools and languages I use, see Inside My AppDev Toolbox. Pieter Level’s shares his toolbox in How I Build My Minimum Viable Products.

At first, we should identify and build core functionality - see How Less Makes Us Creative.

3. 🚀 Launch​

If you're not embarrassed by the first version of your product, you've launched too late. - Reid Hoffman (LinkedIn founder)