Should i start a "Business" at 17y.o

larissa007

Im currently studying automechanics at my countries equivalent of a trade school, And working at an auto service for 50% as a student, I planned to leverage this job with school, but i got an offer from a friend to rent a garage and start a small junkyard, buy cars for cheap dismantle them and sell the parts for a profit, ive heard a lot of success stories using this Business model, But im not sure, should i first finish my studies and get some more practice working as a student or should i just dive head first and learn everything on the way. Im leaning towards quitting this job and starting the business because thats my end goal afterall, and a whole year to grow my business so after my studies i would already have some sort of income working on my own not for someone else who takes 50% of the money i earn. So any tips, words of knowledge? Is this a dumb idea, will i undoubtedly fail, am i too young?

@sheila51 I started at 10. By 18 I'd already done dog walking, car detailing, yard work/lawn mowing and care, pool cleaning and care, co-running a family business, mobile DJ with PA system, apartment cleaning and painting, worked in a bakery, sold cars at dealerships, played various instruments in bands, worked in a recording studio.

Go for it.

@larissa007 You might make money short term, but what is your goal long term?

A lot of areas are regulating gasoline vehicles out of existence - a lot of areas are 30+ years behind on infrastructure for vehicles because they are more interested in mass transit and rail/train - your customer base will continue to decline with time

Land and buildings continue to cost more, your rent will always go up as your demand for parts continues to go down

Generally speaking your better long term strategy would be to stay in school - learn the most you can about hybrid, electric, self driving camera/computer systems, diagnostics - specialize in the future