Solofounding & Solofunding is tough, but worth it (my reflections, 4 years into it)

manga006

I am somewhat technical — building sites since the early 2000s, but I’m in my 30s now in a non-technical corp marketing gig. As I started working on this side project, I knew it was important to hire a dev who can code while I leverage my day job salary and bonus to keep the whole thing afloat.

My technical knowledge (very basic self taught sql, php, command line) allows me to product manage quite well, and I have worked with this freelance developer on other small projects of mine for years, so while the common advice is to not project manage out your coding — this was a special circumstance.

The easy part about my project is that I am the end user. I am essentially building a SAAS for myself to automate specific business processes within an industry that sells specific products to consumers (B2C). Essentially, I am automating an entire business. And once fully scaled, it could have a huge share of the market of this niche industry. The industry is quite old, and super niche, but still has a lot of scalability. The audience is consumers (not businesses). There are physical products which cannot necessarily easily be drop shipped, providing somewhat of a moat.

Nearly 4 years in now, I have spent roughly $75K on the outsourced (non-US) developer and the project is in good enough shape that I am finally able to get scale. The channels I use to market/sell are your usual marketing/selling channels. I’m not going to list them, but just think where you buy stuff online. It’s probably those.