Start-up or social experiment, you choose. Get the charcoal!

frogger94

In short: Create a community and a breakeven department within my firm that provides so much value and loyalty from the community of I.T. developers, it results in increased sales of management consulting and software development services provided by my firm.

Batman Origin Story minus the Batman:

In recent candidate searches for an IT position at my firm, I've had candid discussions with IT professionals. They've revealed frustrations with automated application systems, inexperienced recruiters, and questionable practices from staffing agencies. It's been eye-opening; while I knew of some issues, the extent has shocked me.

The economic downturn has hit IT professionals hard, worsened by a talent industry in disarray, endangering their livelihoods and morale. Starting my career as a developer, I've always felt a protective instinct for software engineers. This led me to wonder: what could a small New England business management consulting and software development firm do for IT developers?

Problem:
  • I.T. developers are exploited by staffing agencies through deceptive business practices:
    • Forced to accept positions before first meeting with the client.
    • Hidden fees that lower purported / advertised compensation.
    • Manipulated to work extended hours without pay despite the legalities.
    • Absurd pay rate to billing rate ratios.
  • I.T. developers are being exploited by freelance marketplaces like Upwork and Fiverr:
    • A myriad of fees and costs obfuscate and lessen effective compensation.
    • Platforms do little to protect freelancers from bad actors on the platform leading to non-payment of work completed.
    • Wasted time creating proposals never viewed due to hundreds of proposals generated by automated systems.
  • Businesses experience lower productivity from underpaid and demoralized developers.