Started a content marketing agency 5 years ago - $0 to $4,539,659 (2022 Update, Part 1): Lower the stakes

lilbrenda

Hey friends,

This is my yearly update post on my content marketing business.

I don’t really have anything to promote. But feel free to follow me on Twitter if you’re interested in what I have to say about entrepreneurship, content marketing, SEO, and hip hop.

My name is Tyler and five years ago I started a content marketing agency called Optimist.

After quitting my full-time job at a venture-funded startup to work as a freelancer, I quickly, “filled my dance card.”

From there, I started a content marketing agency called Optimist to focus on using content to drive growth—primarily for startups and tech companies.

In the last 5 years, we’ve grown the company to about $1.5MM in annual revenue.

It’s been a fun and challenging journey:
Each year, I’ve shared lessons and progress as we’ve grown, trying to document a transparent look at our victories and our failures. I've gotten tons of feedback, questions, and messages over the years. It's been one of my favorite parts of growing this company.

Coming off of 2020, last year was a much different experience.

Thankfully, 2021 was less stressful and less hectic. But it wasn’t without its own challenges.

Nevertheless, I do feel as though having 5 years under my belt has given me a new level of understanding—and a healthy dose of perspective—that I want to share in this update.

How Optimist Works​

First, an overview/recap of the Optimist business model:
  • We operate as a “collective” of full time/professional freelancers
  • Everyone aside from me is a contractor
  • Entirely remote/distributed team
  • Each freelancer earns $65-85/hour (Recently raised and reset our pay rates)
  • Clients pay us a flat monthly fee for full-service content marketing (includes research/strategy, writing, design, and content promotion/outreach)