Starting from scratch

2304ld

Hello, I am a freshman B Tech student in one of the top IITs of the country.
I am really interested in entrepreneurship and startups in general, and I really want to explore this domain in the future. But I think I need to first develop some basic knowledge and skillset.

So my question is how to learn startup and business from scratch? Basic terms, case studies, how is a startup built, what to be done to create one's own startup everything.
Any course on coursera, any good book, any YouTube channel etc. And I would really want to connect with aspiring as well as seasoned entrepreneurs. Thank you.

@2304ld I started straight after college. No experience. No business background.

World is a great real-life course.

Here is what you can follow to satisfy your itch
1. Find a problem people face around you
2. Find a basic solution
3. Offer to help them (keep learning the dynamics as main goal)
4. Help them and get feedback
5. Improve your solution and maintain healthy (not too friendly) relationship with initial customers (they will refer you to other people)
6. Understand end to end supply demand after 10-20 happy customers (who actually paid)
7. Start investing in marketing and grow.

@2304ld Books:

The Lean Startup by Eric Ries

Zero to One by Peter Thiel

The Startup Owner's Manual by Steve Blank and Bob Dorf

Crossing the Chasm by Geoffrey A. Moore

Traction: How Any Startup Can Achieve Explosive Customer Growth by Gabriel Weinberg and Justin Mares

YouTube Channels:

Startup Grind

Y Combinator

TechCrunch

Forbes

Entrepreneur

GaryVee

@2304ld Develop a taste in podcasts, yt videos and books.
Follow the right people on twitter.
Learn about investing and venture capitalism.
Read essays by Paul Graham, Andreesen, Naval, etc.
Since you’re in the fy, learn as much coding as you can. Join e-cells.
You have the mindset plus you’re in IIT. You’re already doing great. Good luck!