Toothpaste Idea

bigcheese

Natural, locally-sourced whitening toothpaste w/fluoride. In a broad sense, toothpaste is a big market with big competitors like Crest and Colgate. The natural toothpaste market is smaller and can be divided in to the fluoridated and non-fluoridated camps. There are 2 main competitors in the arena of natural, fluoridated toothpaste being Tom's of Maine (owned by Colgate) and Hello toothpaste. Both of these toothpastes contain some well recognized synthetic ingredients and don't source locally. I'm a dentist in the pacific northwest so a lot of the mint, herbs and other ingredients are native. Natural health and beauty products are a big industry and toothpaste has place in it. I'm still in brainstorming and planning stages but have a manufacturer that can have toothpaste filled and packaged $1.95/unit with a minimum of 5-10k units (negotiating). Planning to sell and market online, farmers market, hopefully whole foods, natural food stores, local drug stores (bartells). Please roast me!

@bigcheese It's doable, but it's not easy by any stretch of the imagination. I don't understand why anyone would care about the source locally thing for toothpaste. It sits on your shelf for months. In my mind this is a non issue for nearly everyone. It's not fresh food we're talking about. I think you'll need to find other better value propositions.

If you go to a Sprouts or Whole Foods you will see that there is ample competition. Search google or Amazon for organic tooth paste. But as you say, the big players dominate 99% of the market. This is not likely to change any time soon. This has to do with distribution challenges more than anything else. Toms of Maine started in 1970 so it took them about 40 years to get to a point where they were bought by Colgate. And they sell more than just toothpaste. Do you love this idea enough to stick with it for many years?