what can i do with stone (granite/quartz/marble)? want your opinion too

jacusmc18

i currently work as a CnC operator for my uncle at his stone fabrication shop. I have access to a lot of scrap pieces that end up getting thrown out. Since i am the Cnc operator i can cut things up myself but i do not know how to polish but would be willing to learn.

I have though about making cheese platters/ cutting boards that i can sell online. looking on etsy. i can easily undercut any competitor because i am getting my material for free and if my uncle charges me for water/sand to cut my material it would be minimal.

another option i have looked into is making custom letters. like a 8x8 inch letter T /A/D etc. he would most likely charge me a bit more since these cuts require more water jet (more garnet). but again i don't see him charging me an arm.

i was thinking about what other custom ideas i could do. i have also thought about shipping these fragile and heavy items and was thinking how much that would really affect my pricing.

this is the machine i work with everyday -

i have been thinking about these ideas for the past year now but feel like i lose confidence when i talk about these ideas with other people. this is my first post here and would really appreciate some feedback!

edit- i have also thought about doing puzzle pieces ! something like this - https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/...U-_H0eKecgCYJip5b6rZg9hci277Bd7qPb19c4E4g5U&s

@revelation2012 thanks for the advice and opportunity! i thought my reply sent before but my phone but it never went thru

after being in stone industry for a year and change now i easily saw that there are many different branches to "stone". headstones are a completely different industry since they focus more on the "blasting" the stone while what we do here is cutting and polishing from scratch, no engraving, basically custom fabrication on kitchens/countertops/etc