What I learn from my $200 MRR App I built 4 months ago?

amyser

4 month ago, I am just a 10-years experienced product manager without any software development experience. I have an $3K/month job, but I am so tired, I don’t like my life, don’t like my boss, don’t like my daily work, that make me feeling I already died however I am still living.

I yearn for freedom and want to live each day the way I want to. So I quit my job, and become a Indie developer to build my own business, my own app, even my own life.

I am so grateful for this time and experience, now my app reach $200 MRR, still very little compared to my previous salary, but I never regret.

I have learned lots of things from this time and experience, more than I had in last 10 years.

Here is the time-line of my App:

- Sep 2023: Launch first version to iOS App store

- Oct 2023: Release in-app-purchase features and have first subscriber, the revenue in October is $154

- Nov 2023: Change from subscription to pay per use, and I did lots of marketing jobs in November, however, the revenue reduced to only $40.

- Dec 2023: Change back to subscription, and stop some invalid marketing jobs, only keep the ones that actually work. I almost did nothing in December, and the revenue come to $243.

During this process, I have learned lots of things, there are some of them that I think could help you as well.

## Web or App

My App is an iOS app that only can running on Apple’s device such like iPhone/iPad or Mac with Apple silicon. Many people ask me why my product is an iOS app not a website, because they don’t have any Apple device. It's true that promoting an app is much harder than promoting a website. However I am now very glad I made an App and not a website! If I make a website, I don't think it's possible to make $100 in the first month.