What is the best programming language to learn for growth hacking?

walton

I know coding ability isn't necessarily a requirement for growth hacking, but I strongly believe this is a skill that'll be in increasing demand and will really set me apart from others. I hear ruby on rails is the language i want to go for, but what do you guys think?

P.S. I have some programming experience...I've dabbled with Objective-C (created a super basic calculator), and know a good amount of html and some CSS.

@walton PHP. It's the language of hacks. Google anything you want + PHP and you will find an answer. It's the easiest to pick up. Python has a greater learning curve and will be more frustrating to learn, I can't argue against it, but I would not advise a newbie to learn python. Outside of PHP or Python I'd stay away from any trendy languages.

@louis21 I agree with PHP. It's easy to learn (just a step beyond HTML) and I use it constantly... One way that I constantly use PHP is to develop simple WordPress plugins to help with my "growth hacking"...

@purewords1611 Php is def a safe bet because it is so versatile and everyone uses it! I would suggest also ruby on rails because you can build apps so fast with it.

@walton As a GrowthHacker myself I would strongly suggest PHP/HTML/CSS + Ajax/jQuery/Java Script.

If you can do these you will be far more advanced than 90% of online marketers and growth hackers.

Here is the thing to remember, most likely the company didn't hire you to be a programmer or coder so don't try to be one. Focus on growth oriented skills. Knowing how to manipulate PHP or insert a jQuery element to increase UX/UI is far more important to know how to do than code in Ruby/Python or ASP.