When does it make financial sense for you to file taxes as an S corporation? Here's the math. (super long post)

sherwood

Please note that I am not a tax professional or accountant, some of this information could be wrong, and you should always consult a qualified professional about your unique circumstances.

If you're based in the US, you might have heard about "filing taxes as an S corporation" and been told that it can save you significant amounts of tax. While that is partly true, lowering taxes through an S corp comes with quite a few caveats and complications.

In this post, I'll break things down so you can understand the pros and cons a little easier, when it might make sense to file as an S corp, and when it might not.

As a TL;DR:

If you earn more than around $65,000 - $70,000 a year, filing as an S Corporation could save you a few thousand dollars a year in taxes. If you earn less than that, the extra complications, paperwork, and lower tax savings probably mean it's not worth it.

Buckle up buddies, because there's plenty of math ahead!

How do I create an S corporation?​

It's important to note that in most cases, you will not create an S Corporation itself, instead you just choose to file taxes as one. This is an important distinction. If you choose to actually create an S corp out of whole cloth, there's a ton of (non-tax related) corporate overhead, like issuing share certificates, holding minuted meetings, etc. You don't want that!

Instead, if you just want to file taxes as an S Corp, you need to:
  • Create an LLC - you can do this yourself, or (my recommendation) do it through a company formation service like Incfile, LegalZoom, Rocket Lawyer, or any of the many similar services out there.
  • You then need to file Form 2553 with the IRS. You can do this yourself or do it through the company formation service when you create your company.