Google Adwords to drive traffic and growth

ifitry

Hi folks,

I am thinking about investing in Adwords campaigns to drive traffic to my a product site. I want to do this in parallel to regular content-marketing.

My hope is to get some traffic to further test different landing page versions, conversions, feature ideas etc. Given this strategy, I have the following questions:
  1. Are there any folks here who use Adwords as their primary traffic channel? How has the cost, conversion, quality of leads in been for you?
  2. What are some of the pitfalls with this strategy I should watch out for?
  3. If you think this is a bad idea at this stage, why is that, and what else should I consider?
  4. Are there any coaching, consultants, resources you can recommend to maximize success?
Really appreciate your help.

@ifitry I work as a consultant to help companies grow profitably across all sort of optimization and paid media channels..

Yes - I see paid search (Google Ads) work amazingly for many businesses, both e-commerce and lead generation, across all verticals.

Pitfalls I see most often? It takes more investment than you might think to get statistically significant data to grow off of - I usually recommend around $5k minimum per month in ad spend… and to commit to 4-6 months of that before even thinking of pulling the plug. (Really closer to $8k-$10k per month would be nice if cash flows allow).