Got laid off 2mo ago, learned to code. 1st project with $204.61 revenue so far - Top portable monitors according to Redditors

rdavis0720

I was a product manager at a small-medium SaaS company. 2 months ago, I got laid off because the (0 to 1) product I was leading (AI enabled influencer marketing tool) wasn't working out, and the company was running low on cash to continue funding it.

It was a serious punch in the gut, mainly because I was the main driver of that product and felt responsible for its failure and my teammates' layoffs.

But after getting past that, I started getting excited about starting my own projects with my new found time. I've been following the developments in AI closely, playing with it, using it at work etc. I saw that there's a lot of cool stuff that you can do now that wasn't feasible just 1 year ago and so i've been itching to get more hands-on with it. Now's the time I guess!

What I built for my first project:

A website that shows you the top portable monitors according to Redditors.
  • Because Google results are now terrible
  • Based on AI (+ human checked) analysis of relevant (and recent) posts and comments across Reddit
  • Monetization via amazon affiliate links
Link: https://redditrecs.com/

Timeline:

2 months ago - started (seriously) learning to code

1 month ago - deployed first version of website
  • Shared on Reddit in reply to people to people asking for recommendations
  • Main criticism (from friends, and myself) was that the comments were hard to parse, which I agreed.
  • Looked into SEO and started a blog using Hugo
Now - v1 gotten $204.61 in amazon affiliate commissions so far
  • Mainly from replying to people on Reddit - posted \~8 replies so far
  • Nothing from SEO so far, will probably need to invest more time to figure it out
  • Launched v2:
    • You can now quickly zoom in to comments that you're interested in (e.g. what's good about the monitor, what are people saying about portability etc)