How do I get funding if I never plan to “exit”?

angeleyescj

Hi everyone, I’ve been working alone on a hardware prototype for 18 months. It’s come pretty far, but it’s still more like a working proof of concept than a beautiful, near final prototype. I’m at a point where I am my own bottleneck and need to multiply.

The problem is, I am fearful of VC funding because:

A) I don’t know what the benefit would be for the investor if I don’t plan to exit.

B) I worry that VC funding would send my project down the path of prioritizing an exit strategy or IPO rather than building a great product that is going to delight customers.

I have long term plans for this and want to build out my vision, and therefore want to maintain control.

My initial goal was to crowdfund this, but I’m realizing

A) Crowdfunding as a platform for “funding your dreams” is pretty much a lie. Your product needs to already be done before you can crowdfund: Manufacturing ready, MSRP priced out. If you underestimate the lead time, cost, or manufacturability, you’ll get killed.

B) I still have so much work to do. I can spend months more on my own to get to a prettier looking and better working prototype, but I’ll inevitably need a hardware and software engineer because I’m not good enough to do it all myself.

I’ve got $100k in the bank. One option I’m considering is, since I can’t afford to hire full time, maybe I can outsource specific jobs for a flat fee on various freelance or job sites.

Am I unnecessarily fearful of VC funding? Are there other options I should consider?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

@angeleyescj Get a SBA bank loan if you’re in the USA. Otherwise, look at other loan options for startups.

I’d personally take a loan before any investor money so I can continue to run my business free and clear of outside opinions and pressures.