How I grew from 368 to 11.3k followers on Instagram in 8 days for free

mmarco

On Sunday Nov 5th, I had 368 Instagram followers.

On Tuesday Nov 7th, I had 3,092 followers.

On November 11th and I hit 10k followers.

As of today November 13th, I have 11.3k.

No advertising. No influencer partnerships. Just funny viral content.

I’m gonna tell you how you can copy my strategy:

I had been failing to grow my Instagram for 6+ months.

Then, I had an idea for a new type of content. It’s a stupid simple idea. It’s quick 7-second videos of me reading books with weird titles on the subway in the style of a Snapchat snipe video.

3 weeks ago, I started posting daily videos. When I posted the first 5 videos, my account still had my real name iamjasonlevin. But I saw the videos were gaining traction so I doubled down on what was working and "committed to the bit"

COMMIT TO THE BIT

A “bit” is an idea for a joke in stand-up comedy speak. So “committing to the bit” is the idea of committing to a joke and going all-in balls-to-the-wall. On Saturday, I committed to the bit and changed my username to subway.reader.

The hypothesis was that this would lead people who see my Reels to go click on my profile to see what other weird book videos I’ve posted. If they liked the videos and vibe, then maybe they’d press follow.

Well, the hypothesis proved correct.

Follower growth went on hyperdrive. I thought it’d blow up, but I didn’t know it’d be this crazy. The original video of me reading How to Win Friends and Influence People has 12.6 million views, the video of me reading a guide on cunninglingus has 6.1 million views, and the video me reading How to Live With a Small P*nis has 18 million views!!!

HERE'S HOW TO STEAL MY STRATEGY:

Well, you can commit to the bit too. I’m not the first guy to think of “committing to the bit”. You just need to think of a good bit—then commit to it.

Remember Dude With A Sign?