Opening a business in the US on J-1 Exchange Visitor visa

brianitos

Hey,

I am currently on a student exchange programme in the USA. I am returning to my home country in Europe in two months.

However, I would like to start an e-commerce business (selling on Amazon). I was wondering if I am eligible to register a business bank account here in the US, and register a LLC within my state as well? Provided I am on a visa (J-1) and will probably never ever set foot in this country again once I returned home?

Greatly appreciate your help.

@brianitos It should be very easy to find resources regarding what you are allowed and not allowed to do on your type of Visa. The Visas very specifically State whether you can or cannot work or generate income while here on that Visa. If you get caught working or generating income on a Visa that does not allow it it will be revoked.

I am an immigration federal agent however I haven't used anything regarding your question since studying in the academy since that isn't my particular line of work. But I do remember that it is a clear cut yes or no on working/income, and violating it is grounds to revoke.

If it is allowed on your particular Visa you may have to get an EIN so that the income can be taxed legally

@3ephemeralwinds My understanding was that he wants to set up the company while he is in the US and then use it after he leaves. If he wants to run the business during his time in the US on a visitors visa that is a huge violation and definitely not allowed.

@613jono gotcha, if that's the case I believe even applying to start a business entity would be a violation all the same. and in reality, it wouldnt make it any easier doing it while here or while back home. if anything, it still wouldnt be legit, because he would be using a mailing address he is at now but wont be based out of when he returns.