So I’m an AI scientist trying to come up with an idea for SaaS

nommie

As the title says, I have been working in AI for 8 years now with a strong background in software dev and cloud systems.

I have been trying to escape the idea of selling my time and focus on selling a product.

I’m trying to come up with an idea but it’s a little too hard for me. How do you guys came up with your ideas ? And where to look for promising ideas ….

@nommie Won't it be difficult committing to a project you didn't come up with? Will it not just feel like another "selling your time" thing? What would be some of your ideas, even roughly? Then we can brainstorm around those instead of guiding you down a path that might not really interest you long term?

@cayamaka To be fair to them, they also asked for help in generating ideas. Some people are able to compartmentalize and think of things like this as projects to test and get in the game.

The best answer I have is either look for a problem to fix in your daily life — anything that rubs you the wrong way or you have a workaround for — or try ask friends about anything they wish they had in their working life.

If you’re super low on ideas, you could always pick an audience and try to take a look at what tools they use to make their lives/work/entertainment more tailored to their needs by reading their reviews and fixing issues they’re not addressing for their customer.

Only you will know your skill level and ability to create products. Be cautious when doing research, it’s unethical to copy someone’s ideas— make things your own if you see an opening they’re not addressing.

@nommie Browse the following websites for 2 weeks:

- Product Hunt.

- AppSumo.

- Betalist

See what products you'd like to work on, go and checkout their features, even signup if you like and discover the idea and the problem they are trying to solve.