Yet another Pet Waste Removal business, but it's become a monster in 3 months

michaelchandler

Hello all, I want some words from anyone on this. It's a doozy.

I started a dog poop removal business 3 months ago, and it's taken off.
Admittedly, branding and marketing are my favorite parts of running a business, so that probably has a lot to do with it. But her we go.

I'm no total newbie to the small business game, I ran an LLC for 3 years, a food truck, and it whent amazing. We only stopped because it was too time consuming and the profit margins were too wild to depend on, and life changes happened, nothing bad!

But this dog poop scoop business is a new beast. My new baby.
In the beginning I wanted 5 or 6 clients on a monthly subscription based service, to help with extra money. Well I got that, in the first 2 weeks.
I chose a name that isn't funny like "Poop Boys" etc. It's a decent name that is safe for people to admit they are a customer of. My branding is also going well, two colors. Black and gold. I'm consistent with my style of online marketing, as well as using art that is within my taste but still unique. I also, bought good looking shirts and hoodies to look more professional over the competition. ( In my area, only one competition, 60 miles away)

My communication I try very hard at, as well as basic small business owner type mindset. Being a nice person for God's sake.

But after my initial boost of clients, I grew to 7, to 9 to 12 to 15 now at a total 39 residential properties. In three months.
My route is very well put together so time between properties is 2-5 minutes.
ROUGHLY 50$/hour while scooping poop. Not including billing and back end work.

Just over 2,000$+ in revenue for my third month alone. NOT including the one time cleanups I do. From monthly subscription alone. Once a week.
The profit margin is massive, basically bags and gasoline, wear and tear on vehicles ( quite low) and starting equipment.