Low conversion rates - what's wrong with my funnel?

wretched

I’m a solo dev bootstrapping a b2c SaaS in the travel space. I’ve been launched for about two months, but I’m not getting many paid conversions. I’m trying to understand where the problems are in my funnel. Here’s my numbers, and some of my ideas on what might be wrong.
  • Google PPC CTR: 6% (around industry average). High quality score on most keywords. “Maximize Clicks” campaign, since I don’t have enough conversion data to run anything else, I think.
  • Landing Page CTA: 50%. CTA asks visitors to try for free, no signup. There’s one form field, then directly to app. Possible issues: Copy not persuasive or clear enough? Ad expectations don’t match page?
  • Sign Up (free): 18%: Of the remainder, 50% bounce right away and 32% try for a minute or so but don’t sign up. Possible issues: UX/UI, PMF, insufficient onboarding, or maybe the ads are just targeting the wrong audience?
  • Subscribe: 9% (which is 0.9% of ad clicks): Payment scales the value metrics (similar to competitors) and unlocks a variety of extra features. Maybe I’ve giving away too much for free, or the subscription features have bad PMF? Possibly the price is too high/low, though that also matches competitors, roughly.
I’m sure there’s room to improve, but I’m facing the usual problem of being a dev who doesn’t know how to market. I'm particularly concerned about the bounce rate after users follow the initial CTA to "try for free" - my intuition suggests a UX/UI/PMF issue but I don't really know if 50% bounce at that point is good or bad.

Am I missing any other possibilities? Do any of these metrics seem off? Thanks!

@wretched Are you measuring activation of free trial users? How do you know whether they’re having an “aha” moment and that your free trial is sufficiently selling your product? Have you been able to talk to any of them?