PPP w/o Schedule C?

itjesus

First post here so go easy on me..

Has anyone else received PPP funding after SOLELY sending in 1099 MISC? (So no Schedule C)

As for my situation, I’m an independent contractor w/ 0 employees & filed for PPP as soon as it was available. (Recording Engineer/Producer)

Originally there was little guidance and appeared that the loan amount (mine was $4500) would be based on 2019 income. I provided 1099-MISC (gross) rather than Schedule C (net) because that is what was asked of me. My loan officer/Lendio/Customer’s Bank never asked for Schedule C, plus I’ve yet to file 2019 taxes.

As an independent contractor, I pay for all of my own overhead. Gear, rent, etc, which significantly brings down my net income + taxes owed after calculating those losses... which in turn brings down my forgivable loan amount (to my knowledge).

With that being said, I’m set to receive funding this morning per the bank.

I’m afraid that when I file my taxes there will be major issues and I’m tempted to just send back the $$.. anyone else in a similar boat? It’s such a weird situation.

(edited for clarity)

@itjesus I was approved for a new 2020 business (jan/feb 2020 financials) using my Feb2020 bank statement showing an ACH income deposit, and a Q1 Profit&Loss report from quickbooks. They used the profit and loss net profit, which included the income and a handful of expenses, to calculate the loan. No tax forms. I realize now that the bank statement may have been enough, or a simplified P&L statement that didn't have quite so many expenses would have meant a larger approved amount.

Take the funding they give you, assume it was based on the "best info you had at the time". And then file your taxes as you normally would.

It may effective some of your forgiveness levels if they base it off 2019 tax forms though. Just be warned if you're doing something like claiming a net loss in 2019.