I'm giving up on my SaaS sales journey

chunhe889

I resigned from my full-time job to commit my entire time to building envsecrets.com. It wasn't an instantaneous decisions. I'm very quick to reject 99% of the SaaS ideas. So, I thought this through.
  1. I personally felt the requirement of a quick tool like this.
  2. I knew almost all developers on the planet at least deal with this problem.
  3. There are legitimate competitors. I knew I could single-handedly build a product at least as good as their even if not better. My primary competitor is YC backed and funded.
  4. I know I could build this by myself. While maintaining it's security and keeping it open-source.
Here are my problems:
  1. My entire time goes in development. Because I'm the only one building and maintaining quite literally the entire codebase. All services and infra included.
  2. My sales suck. I don't have even a single paid customer by now.
  3. This is my first time trying to sell something I've built. Earlier the companies I worked for, obviously took care of that.
  4. Though, almost everyone I talk to instantly gets interested, but almost nobody even warmly completes the conversation. I don't even get close to offering a $5 subscription.
  5. I tried onboarding a few interested fellows as potential co-founders to handle sales while I handle dev. I’ve tried part-time with a few folks like that and honestly I’m not that against it but 15-20 days into their commitment and eventually folks realise they are not really able to commit the required time and effort which in turn unfairly affects the project.
  6. Much more lousier tools are able to score $5 subscribers on ProductHunt but I get zero visibility for a clearly more complex software.
  7. I have no idea how to properly cold email without pissing people off.